About the Journal


Studies in Ancient Art and Civilization were created in 1991 as an irregular series which in the first place served as a forum for the presentation of the Jagiellonian University Institute of Archaeology and studies provided by its researchers. The series was originated by Professor Joachim Śliwa, who was also its first Editor in Chief. In the years 2010–2014 this function was held by Professor Ewdoksia Papuci-Władyka, and since 2015 it has been fulfilled by Professor Jarosław Bodzek. Since vol. 10 (2007) SAAC has become a regular yearly periodical owned and managed by the Jagiellonian University Institute of Archaeology.

Until present twenty one volumes have been published, among them three monographic studies (vol. 3: Les palettes egyptiennes aux motifs zoomorphes et sans decoration by K. Ciałowicz, vol. 11: Pontika 2006 conference proceedings edited by E. Papuci-Władyka, vol. 18 Proceedeings of the Sixth Central European Conference of Egyptologists edited by J. Dębowska-Ludwin, M. Jucha, P. Kołodziejczyk) and four volumes dedicated to distinguished researchers from our Institute on the occasion of their jubilees (vols. 8 – Professor Maria Ludwika Bernhard, 14 – Professor Joachim Śliwa, 15 – Professor Janusz A. Ostrowski, 17 – Professor Ewdoksia Papuci-Władyka).

Since 2010 (vol. 14) the publisher has been Księgarnia Akademicka Publishing Ltd. in Krakow.

 Aims and Scope

SAAC publishes papers in the fields of archaeology, art and civilization. The territories covered are ancient Egypt, the Near East, Greece and its colonies, Cyprus, Rome, as well as other, non-Mediterranean ancient civilizations. Pieces on the history of the discipline of archaeology, collections of antiquities and the reception of ancient culture in modern Europe are also welcomed.

Abstracting and Indexing Services

  • Scopus
  • ERIH Plus
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • EBSCO:
  • Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)
  • Index Copernicus Journal Master List (ICV 2021 – 120.51)
  • Central European Journal Of Social Sciences And Humanities (CEJSH)
  • Journal List of Polish Ministry of Education and Science 2021 – 70 points
  • Google Scholar
  • Crossref
  • Polish National Bibliography (PBN)
  • Bridge of Knowledge
  • Arianta
  • WorldCat


Archiving and Repository Policy

The electronic backup and preservation of access to the journal content are provided by the publisher. The journal content is also archived with the Jagiellonian Library (Kraków, Poland) as a long-term preservation service. It might be deposited in institutional repositories belonging to universities, including the Repository of Jagiellonian University if only an agreement with the publisher has been signed.

In case of self-archiving please look at the Copyright & Licensing section.