A Manuscript Description in Kraków of the ‘Trivulzio Museum’ in Milan
Keywords:Trivulzio, Milan, Millin, cameos, intaglios, rings, collecting
An early nineteenth-century manuscript is preserved in the Jagiellonian Library in Kraków. This document in Italian, entitled ‘Breve Descrizione del Museo Trivulzio’, describes the contents of a collection of an aristocratic family in Milan, as seen shortly after the death of its builder – Don Carlo Trivulzio (1715-1789). The author compares it to a published text in French by Aubin-Louis Millin, and publishes up-to-date descriptions of the engraved gems evoked in the manuscript. Thanks to various sources, five of those seven cameos and intaglios can also be illustrated together for the first time.
How to Cite
Copyright (c) 2017 Hadrien J. Rambach
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.